Thursday, November 10, 2011

Spanky Wilson - Singin' and Swingin' (1991)
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe/Uploadstation
Genre ~ Vocal Jazz, Standards | Label ~ Big Blue Records

Born in Philadelphia, PA, soul singer Spanky Wilson (a nickname she received as a child due to the spankings her father gave her when she behaved badly) joined the scene in the late '60s with big-band recordings, moving to Paris in 1985 to continue her career there. With collaborations with the like of the Duke Ellington Orchestra, Lalo Schifrin, Marvin Gaye, Willie Bobo, and Sammy Davis, Jr., along with her own solo work, Wilson became a DJ favorite all over the world, including in England, where musician and producer Will Holland (Quantic, Quantic Soul Orchestra) spent many years searching for her (she had moved to Los Angeles in 2000). In 2004 Holland finally found Wilson, and they worked together on two songs for Quantic's record, Mishaps Happening, leading to a full-length Wilson and QSO album, I'm Thankful, which came out in 2006 on Ubiquity. ~Allmusic

01. Oh Lady Be Good (5:26)
02. Take the "A" Train (4:13)
03. This Can't Be Love (3:06)
04. Cold Feeling (4:11)
05. Where the Grass is Greener (3:10)
06. My Old Flame (5:19)
07. Pennies from Heaven (3:53)
08. Steppin' In (4:49)
09. Summertime (2:45)
10. The Show Must Go On (5:32)
11. Bass-ically Speaking (3:53)
12. Stormy Monday (3:56)

Spanky Wilson - vocals
Philippe Milanta - piano
Bruno Rousselet - bass
Michel Denis - drums

Digitally recorded on February 21st and 22nd, 1991
Recorded by Marc Haliday, at Studio Family Sound, Paris
Digitally mastered at Studio 44.1, Paris
Front and back cover photography by Akwa "Bill" Betote
Produced by Jean-Michel Proust & Jean-Marc Fritz for Big Blue Records