Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Barney Kessel - Autumn Leaves (1968) [Remastered 1989]

Barney Kessel - Autumn Leaves (1968) [Remastered 1989]
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe
Genre ~ Cool, Bop, Guitar Jazz | Label ~ Black Lion Records

Barney Kessel was for years considered the finest jazz guitarist since the great Charlie Christian. Like Stitt, Kessel was born in 1924, but he was an Okie from Muskogee with a feel for the blues and a lyrical way with a melody line. Kessel paid his early dues in the bands of Ben Pollack, Charlie Barnett and Artie Shaw. By the 1950s the gifted young guitarist had hit full stride and was putting out annual hits—The Poll Winners—with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Shelly Manne. Kessel was also a founding member of the Oscar Peterson trio. Autumn Leaves presents the artist in the full flower of maturity. The CD brings together four recording sessions made in London and Los Angeles in 1968 and 1969, and it’s a tour de force for Kessel.


1. Autumn Leaves
2. Corcovado (Quiet Nights)
3. On a Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
4. Aquarius
5. You're the One for Me
6. The Look of Love
7. I Will Wait for You 3:21
8. Watch What Happens
9. Blue Soul
10. Comin' Home
11. Shufflin'
12. Quail Bait
13. Watch the Birds Go By

Thanks to the original uploader!