Sunday, November 20, 2011

Cannonball Adderley - With Strings & Jump for Joy (1995)

Cannonball Adderley - With Strings & Jump for Joy (1995)
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe/FilePost/Uploadstation
Genre ~ Hard-Bop, Soul | Label ~ EmArcy/Verve

This CD reissues two complete LPs from near the beginning of altoist Cannonball Adderley's career. The first session is quite unusual for Adderley (who was completely unknown just a few months earlier) was given a very early opportunity to record with strings. He sounds fine on 11 standards and Terry Gibbs' "Lonely Dreams" but mostly sticks near the melody while Richard Hayman's Orchestra sounds rather anonymous. The 1958 sessions finds him performing ten songs from the early-'40s Duke Ellington show "Jump for Joy" (including "Just Squeeze Me," "I Got It Bad," and "Jump for Joy") while accompanied by a string quartet, a rhythm section, and trumpeter Emmett Berry; Bill Russo provided the generally stimulating arrangements. The formerly rare music on this CD is enjoyable but not as essential as Adderley's slightly later Riverside albums. ~Allmusic

01. I Cover the Waterfront (2:29)
02. A Foggy Day (2:44)
03. The Surrey with the Fringe on Top (2:34)
04. Two Sleepy People (3:04)
05. I'll Never Stop Loving You (2:44)
06. (I'm Afraid) The Masquerade is Over (3:14)
07. I've Never Been in Love Before (2:22)
08. Lonely Dreams (2:32)
09. Falling in Love with Love (2:35)
10. Street of Dreams (2:16)
11. Polka Dots and Moonbeams (Around a Pug-nosed Dream) (3:07)
12. You are Too Beautiful (2:59)
13. Two Left Feet (3:15)
14. Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me) (3:19)
15. I Got it Bad (And That Ain't Good) (2:39)
16. Nothin' (4:36)
17. Jump for Joy (3:23)
18. Bli-Blip (3:51)
19. Chocolate Shake (2:43)
20. If Life Were All Peaches and Cream (5:17)
21. Brown-skin Gal (In the Calico Gown) (2:52)
22. The Tune of the Hickory Stick (3:24)

Cannonball Adderley - alto saxophone on all tracks, accompanied by:

Tracks #1-12
Richard Hayman's Orchestra, personnel unknown
Richard Hayman - arranger & conductor

Tracks #13-22
Emmett Berry - trumpet
Leo Kruczek, Gene Orloff - violins
Dave Schwartz - viola
George Ricci - cello
Bill Evans - piano
Barry Galbraith - guitar
Milt Hinton - bass
Jimm Cobb - drums
Bill Russo - arranger & conductor

Tracks #1-12 recorded October 27 and 28, 1955; at Fine Sound, New York City
Tracks #15-17, 20, and 21 recorded August 20, 1958 in New York City
Tracks #13, 14, 18, 19 and 22 recorded August 21, 1958 in New York City
Original LP issue for tracks #1-12: "Julian Cannonball Adderley and Strings" {EmArcy-MG36063}
Original LP issue for tracks #13-22: "Jump for Joy" {EmArcy-MG36146}
Original recordings for #1-12, produced by Bob Shad; cover photograph by Herman Leonard
Original recordings for #13-22, produced by Jack Tracy; cover photograph by Don Bronstein