Thursday, November 17, 2011

David Murray Latin Big Band - Now Is Another Time (2003)

David Murray Latin Big Band - Now Is Another Time (2003)
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe/FilePost/Uploadstation
Genre ~ Post-Bop, Big Band, Latin | Label ~ Justin Time

Saxophonist David Murray continues his cross genre initiatives on this undeniably exciting, 2003 release Now Is Another Time. With this effort, the artist enlists his longtime running mates, trumpeter Hugh Ragin and baritone saxophonist Hamiet Bluiett to complement a huge cast of Cuban musicians. This large ensemble Latin jazz extravaganza packs a mighty blow, from beginning to end. Here, the band churns out radiant, multi-layered horn arrangements atop the Cuban masters' sweltering percussion grooves and the soloists' blaring exchanges. They integrate punctual choruses into the grand mix, to coincide with the band's bold, brassy sound and thrusting impetus. Furthermore, Murray is in top form, evidenced by his climactically driven soloing endeavors -- where he peaks within the upper registers -- via an unrelenting pace. It's all about perpetual motion topped off with a festive sentiment, marked by oscillating Afro-Cuban grooves and a few poignant interludes here and there. But the musicians also utilize space to their advantage, where they often allow any given soloist, ample breathing room to reconfigure previously explored themes. Folks, this is the real deal. An awe-inspiring effort, indeed! ~Allmusic

01. Crystal (8:32)
02. Aerol's Change (7:19)
03. Blue Muse (9:12)
04. Break Out (11:16)
05. Mambo Dominica (9:31)
06. Giovanni's Mission (6:35)
07. Sad Kind of Love (20:05)

David Murray - bass clarinet, tenor saxophone
Orlando Sanchez, Irving Michel Acao Sierra - tenor saxophones
Orlando Sanchez Soto - alto & tenor saxophones
German Fermin, Ernesto Varona Rodriguez German - alto saxophones
Cesar Lopez Martinez, Valazco Urdeliz, Velasco Urdeliz - alto saxophones
Hamiet Bluiett, Moises Marquez Loyva - baritone saxophones
Carmelo Andrés, Alexander Brown Cabrera, Elpidio Chapottin - trumpets
Cristobal Ferrer, Hugh Ragin - trumpets
Leonardo Alarcon Henville, Rafael Gavilan, Craig Harris - trombones
Sergio Luna Longchamp, Sergio Ricardo Luna -trombones
Bacillio Bernardo Marquez Richards, Amaury Perez Rodriguez - trombones
Denis Cuni Rodriguez, Boris Sarmiento, Heikel Fabian Triminio - trombones
Jose Luis Cortez, Kahil Ikshr Smith - flutes
Carcasses Colon, Luis Miguel Guerra Crespo - piano
Roberto Julio, Tony Perez, Emilio Morales - piano
Reyes Hernandez, Narciso Jorge, Feliciano Arango Noa - bass
Giraldo Piloto, Olivier Valdes Rey - drums
Tomas Ramos Ortiz, Adel Gonzales Gomez - congas
Jorge Luis Guerra - guiro
Jose Luis Quintana Fuerte - timbales

All compositions by David Murray
Recorded between April 2001 - June 2002
Mixed at Sound on Sound, N.Y.C.; April 2001 / June 2002
Executive Producer: Jim West
Produced by David Murray and Valerie Malot
Mastered by Renee-Marc Aurele at SNB Mastering, Montreal, Canada
Liner notes by Jacques Denis
All songs published by Justin Time Publishing / 3D Family Productions