Thursday, November 10, 2011

Bill Henderson with the Oscar Peterson Trio (1992)

Bill Henderson with the Oscar Peterson Trio (1992)
EAC rip | APE + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe/Uploadstation
Genre ~ Vocal Jazz, Standards | Label ~ PolyGram/Verve

This CD brings back one of the high points of singer Bill Henderson's career. Because he settled in Los Angeles, Henderson never became a major name but he was actually one of the top male jazz singers to emerge in the late '50s. Backed quite sympathetically by the swinging Oscar Peterson Trio (which consisted of pianist Peterson, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Ed Thigpen), Henderson is in prime form on such songs as "All or Nothing at All," "Gravy Waltz," "I've Got a Crush on You," and "The Folks Who Live on the Hill"; four previously unissued songs round out the fairly definitive collection. ~Allmusic

01. You Are My Sunshine (4:38)
02. The Lamp is Low (2:51)
03. All or Nothing at All (3:42)
04. I Wish You Love (3:43)
05. Gravy Waltz (2:22)
06. A Lot of Livin' to Do (2:28)
07. I See Your Face Before Me (2:27)
08. I've Got a Crush on You (4:05)
09. At Long Last Love (2:31)
10. The Folks Who Live on the Hill (3:44)
11. Baby Mine (4:08)
12. Wild is Love (2:40)
13. Where Are You (3:39)
14. Charmaine (3:00)
15. Young and Foolish (3:55)
16. Stranger On The Shore (2:34)

Bill Henderson - vocals
Oscar Peterson - piano
Ray Brown - bass
Ed Thigpen - drums

Recorded between February and May, 1963
Original sessions produced by Jim Davis
Prepared for reissue by Richard Seidel and Seth Rothstein
Tape vault research by Phil Schaap
Director of Engineering: Val Valentin
Digitally remastered by Tom "Curly" Ruff, PolyGram Studios, U.S.A.
Cover photography by Lee Friedlander
Art Direction and Design for Reissue by Giulio Turturro & Diana Lynn Perez
Liner notes by Will Friedwald (June 1989)