Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Bill Evans – You Must Believe in Spring (2004)

Bill Evans – You Must Believe in Spring (2004)
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe
Genre ~ Post-Bop, Piano Trio | Label ~ Rhino/Warner Bros.

This well-rounded set (released posthumously) features the highly influential pianist Bill Evans in a set of typically sensitive trio performances. With his longtime bassist Eddie Gomez and his drummer of the period, Eliot Zigmund, Evans explores such songs as “We Will Meet Again,” Jimmy Rowles’s classic “The Peacocks” and the “Theme from M*A*S*H.” It’s a solid example of the great pianist’s artistry. ~Allmusic

01. B Minor Waltz (for Ellaine) 3:18
02. You Must Believe in Spring 5:46
03. Gary’s Theme 4:23
04. We Will Meet Again (for Harry) 4:05
05. The Peacocks 6:04
06. Sometime Ago 4:40
07. Theme from MASH (aka “Suicide is Painless”) 6:03
08. Without a Song (bonus track) 8:10
09. Freddie Freeloader (bonus track) 7:38
10. All of You (bonus track) 8:10

Bill Evans – piano
Eddie Gomez – bass
Eliot Zigmund – drums

Produced by Helen Keane and Tommy LiPuma
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA; August 23-25, 1977.
Recording and Remix Engineer: Al Schmitt, Hollywood
Art Direction and Design: Brad Kanawyer
Painting: "Yearning" by Charles Burchfield, courtesy of Kennedy Galleries, Inc., NYC
Back Cover Photos: Scott Lyons
Reissue supervised by Richard Seidel
Remastering: David Donnelly at DNA Mastering, Studio City, CA
Reissue Art Direction and Design: Gren Allen