Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Tommy Flanagan and Hank Jones - Our Delights (1979)

Tommy Flanagan and Hank Jones - Our Delights (1979)
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe
Genre ~ Bop, Piano Jazz | Label ~ Galaxy Records

Piano duets have the potential danger of getting overcrowded and a bit incoherent, but neither happens on this rather delightful set. Hank Jones and Tommy Flanagan, two of the four great jazz pianists (along with Barry Harris and Roland Hanna) to emerge from Detroit in the '40s and '50s, have similar styles and their mutual respect is obvious. Their renditions of seven superior bop standards (including "Jordu," "Confirmation" and Thad Jones' "A Child Is Born") plus an alternate take of "Robbins Nest" on this CD reissue are tasteful, consistently swinging and inventive within the tradition. ~ AllMusic


01. Our Delight (5:11)
02. Autumn Leaves (5:42)
03. Robbins Nest (7:21)
04. Jordu (5:04)
05. Confirmation (5:19)
06. A Child Is Born (6:21)
07. Lady Bird (3:55)

Thanks to the original uploader!