Monday, November 14, 2011

McCoy Tyner and the Latin All-Stars (1999)

McCoy Tyner and the Latin All-Stars (1999)
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe/Uploadstation
Genre ~ Latin Jazz, Afro-Cuban | Label ~ TELARC

McCoy Tyner's percussive piano style has always worked well within an Afro-Cuban groove, and this recording provides an excellent setting for him and his all-star lineup to work in. Mixing genre classics like "Afro Blue" and "Poinciana" with original material, Tyner's first release for the Telarc label provides a completely satisfying, highly rhythmic experience. Regular bassist Avery Sharpe combines with a three-man percussion section to propel the group's extended explorations. Besides the leader's instantly recognizable pianistic flurries and fat, two-handed chords, the front-line foursome of flute whiz Dave Valentin, saxophonist Gary Bartz, trumpeter Claudio Roditi and bone-and-shell man Steve Turre is superb, both in ensemble passages and individual solo spots. In the course of his long career, McCoy Tyner has recorded in nearly every conceivable setting. Though many of his solo, trio and quartet dates are superb, his expansive style has often been most enjoyably showcased in the company of multiple horns. From the rollicking opener "Festival in Bahia," to the beautiful "A Song for Love," to the straightforward timbale-driven Latin groove of "We Are Our Father's Sons," McCoy Tyner & the Latin All-Stars makes a potent case for inclusion in the upper tier of Tyner's catalog. ~Allmusic

01. Festival in Bahia (11:02)
02. Poinciana (7:00)
03. Afro Blue (12:24)
04. A Song for Love (10:34)
05. La Habana Sol (8:36)
06. We are Our Fathers' Sons (5:25)
07. Blue Bossa (6:51)

McCoy Tyner - piano
Johnny Almendra - timbales
Gary Bartz - saxophones
Ignacio Berroa - drums
Giovanni Hidalgo - percussion
Claudio Roditi - trumpet and flugelhorn
Avery Sharpe - bass
Steve Turre - trombone and shells
Dave Valentin - flute

Recorded at Avatar Studios, Studio A, New York; July 29-30, 1998.
Recording Producer: Elaine Martone
Recording Engineers: Jack Renner, Robert Friedrich
Executive Producer: Robert Woods
Technical Assistant: Gregg Gasperino
Editor: Rosalind Ilett
Mastering Engineer: Robert Friedrich
Cover Photo: Superstock
Cover Design: Jim Burt, Burt and Burt Studios
Art Director: Anilda Carrasquillo