Friday, November 4, 2011

Red Garland - The Nearness of You (1961) [Remastered 1998]

Red Garland - The Nearness of You (1961) [Remastered 1998]
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe
Genre ~ Hard Bop, Piano Jazz | Label ~ JazzLand Records

Unlike his slightly earlier recordings for Moodsville (which feature Red Garland on unaccompanied piano solos), this strictly ballad date has Garland joined (on all but the solo "Lush Life") by bassist Larry Ridley and drummer Frank Gant. Since all eight of the standards are taken at the same medium/slow tempo, there is not much variety here, keeping the CD from being essential. But Garland's attractive and distinctive chord voicings, plus his ability to uplift melodies while swinging at a slow speed, make this project a success. Highlights include "The Nearness of You," "Where or When," and Irving Berlin's "All Alone." Particularly effective when used as background music. ~ AllMusic


01. Why Was I Born?
02. The Nearness of You
03. Where or When
04. Long Ago and Far Away
05. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
06. Don't Worry About Me
07. Lush Life
08. All Alone

Thanks to the original uploader!