Thursday, November 17, 2011

Kenny Drew & Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen – Duo (2008)

Kenny Drew & Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen – Duo (2008)
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe
Genre ~ Hard-Bop, Piano Duo | Label ~ SteepleChase

Hugely talented pianist Kenny Drew performed and recorded during the 1950s with Lester Young, Coleman Hawkins, Miles Davis, Charlie Parker, John Coltrane, Sonny Rollins, Johnny Griffin, Art Blakey and Charlie Mingus before moving to Europe in 1961. In 1964 he settled down in Copenhagen as the house pianist of the famous jazz club called Jazzhus Montmartre. Hugely talented bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen was still in his twenties when he recorded this classic album with Drew in 1973, but he was already considered to be the best bassist in Europe. He had become the house bassist at Jazzhus Montmartre in 1964, and had been playing with Drew in that context for almost a decade before the two went into the studio.

The eclectic program consists of Danish traditional melodies ("Once A Saturday Night," "In The Stil Of The Woods"), original compositions by the two, Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Wave" in which Drew plays both acoustic and electric piano. Guitarist Ole Molin joins the duo on "Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans." This is a must-own item for fans of Drew and Pedersen. Recorded in Copenhagen on April 2, 1973. Originally released by SteepleChase Records in 1973 on LP and 1988 on CD . This reissue CD -- special limited paper sleeve edition -- released in Japan by Videoarts Music on March 19, 2008.”

01. I Skovens Dybe Stille Ro "take 2" (2:55)
02. Come Summer (4:41)
03. Lullaby (0:50)
04. Kristine (5:32)
05. Serenity (3:18)
06. Det Var En Lordag Aften (3:43)
07. Do You Know What it Means to Miss New Orleans (4:15)
08. Wave (5:28)
09. Duo Trip (2:42)
10. Hush-a-Bye (8:05)
11. I Skovens Dybe Stille Ro "take 1" (2:57)

Kenny Drew – piano & electric piano
Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen – bass
Ole Molin - guitar (on #7 only)

Recorded on April 2, 1973 at Wifoss Studios, Copenhagen
Produced by Nils Winther
Liner notes by Ib Skovgaard
Sleeve designed by Vaclav Blazek
Sleeve photos by Jorgen Bo