Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Nancy Wilson - The Jazz and Blues Sessions "The Best Of" (1996) [Blue Note/Capitol]

Nancy Wilson - The Jazz and Blues Sessions "The Best Of" (1996) [Blue Note/Capitol]
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe/Uploadstation/Wupload
Genre ~ Vocal, Standards | Label ~ Blue Note/Capitol

Nancy Wilson's not the first name in bluesy jazz (check out Dinah Washington and Joe Williams for that), but she usually can enliven the form with her sophisticated and sultry style. That's made clear on her rendition of "Stormy Monday Blues," where she eschews blues clichés in favor of a husky airiness, at once referencing a lowdown mood and infusing it with a sense of buoyancy. This split is nicely essayed on Capitol's Blues and Jazz Sessions, as half the tracks ooze with Wilson's cocktail blues tone and the other find the jazz-pop chanteuse in a summery and swinging mood. Ranging from the big band blues of "I've Got Your Number" to the lilting bossa nova "Wave," Wilson handles all the varying dynamics and musical settings with aplomb. Featuring cuts from her '60s prime with the likes of Cannonball Adderley, Oliver Nelson, George Shearing, Gerald Wilson, and a host of top sidemen, this best-of disc offers a fine, off-the-beaten-path overview of Wilson's Capitol heyday. ~Allmusic

01. Like Someone in Love (2:20)
02. I Wish I Didn't Love You So (3:24)
03. Dearly Beloved (2:13)
04. Just for a Thrill (2:34)
05. I've Got Your Number (2:16)
06. In a Sentimental Mood (2:57)
07. Getting to Know You (2:34)
08. Call it Stormy Monday (2:27)
09. He's My Guy (2:28)
10. You're Gonna Hear from Me (2:53)
11. People (3:43)
12. Sufferin' with The Blues (2:12)
13. Wave (2:47)
14. Unchain My Heart (2:07)
15. Never Will I Marry (2:20)
16. Green Dolphin Street (2:23)
17. You Don't Know Me (2:27)
18. A Good Man is Hard to Find (2:59)

Nancy Wilson - vocals on all tracks, featuring:
Cannonball Adderley, George Shearing, Hank Jones, Ben Webster;
and the orchestras of Billy May, Oliver Nelson, Jimmy Jones and Gerald Wilson

Compilation produced by Will Friedwald
Package design by Franko Caligiuri/Studio Franko
Front cover photograph courtesy of Brad Benedict/Capitol Records Photo Archive