Monday, September 5, 2011

Oscar Peterson - Verve Jazz Masters 16 (1994)

Oscar Peterson - Verve Jazz Masters 16 (1994)
EAC Rip | FLAC+CUE+LOG | Full Artwork | FileServe/FileSonic
Genre ~ Bop, Piano Jazz | Label ~ Polygram Records

Vol. 16 of the Verve Jazz Masters series features pianist Oscar Peterson, who recorded prolifically for them from his start in the early '50s up to the early '70s. A single CD could never do Peterson justice, but this one, featuring 15 solid tracks, is evenly balanced between trio and guitar-accented small ensembles, with three big-band tracks added in. The hottest numbers are "Woody 'n You," his original (one of only three of his compositions) "Evrev," and "The Honeydripper." The jazz orchestras nearly consume Peterson during "West Coast Blues," "O.P.," and the stringy "Someday My Prince Will Come." No matter; it's the brilliant voice that listeners admire and are awed by that always shines through, and even though his discography for Verve is gigantic, this remains a good place to start, especially for the student or novice to Peterson's genius.


01. Night Train
02. Woody 'n' You
03. Willow Weep for Me
04. Younger Than Springtime
05. West Coast Blues
06. Love for Sale
07. Noreen's Nocturne
08. O. P.
09. Blues Etude
10. Gal in Calico
11. D & E
12. Bossa Beguine
13. Evrev
14. Honey Dripper
15. Someday My Prince Will Come

Thanks to Oceandrop!