Monday, September 5, 2011

Lionel Hampton with Oscar Peterson - Verve Jazz Masters 26 (1994)

Lionel Hampton with Oscar Peterson - Verve Jazz Masters 26 (1994)
EAC Rip | FLAC+CUE+LOG | Full Artwork | FileServe/FileSonic
Genre ~ Mainstream Jazz, Standards, Vibraphone Jazz | Label ~ Polygram Records

Vibraphonist Lionel Hampton and pianist Oscar Peterson are the stars of this delightful collection of jazz recordings supervised by producer Norman Granz over an almost exactly 12-month period extending from 1953 to 1954. Granz's marvelous knack for bringing together excellent musicians resulted in the combined presence of trumpeters Roy Eldridge and Dizzy Gillespie, trombonist Bill Harris, clarinetist Buddy DeFranco, tenor saxophonists Ben Webster and Flip Phillips, guitarist Herb Ellis, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Buddy Rich. The combination of musical minds is extraordinary, and Hamp's amazing wavelength is dependably positive and uplifting.


01. Jam Blues (excerpt)
02. Always
03. Soft Winds
04. Star Dust
05. Je Ne Sais Pas
06. Tenderly
07. Hallelujah!
08. Sweethearts on Parade
09. Date with Oscar

Thanks to Oceandrop!