Monday, September 12, 2011

Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong - Ella and Louis (1956) [LIM Ultra HD 32-bit Remastered 2010]

Ella and Louis (1956) [LIM Ultra HD 32-bit Remastered 2010]
EAC Rip | FLAC+CUE+LOG| Full Artwork | FileServe/FileSonic
Genre ~ Traditional Pop, Standards, Vocal Jazz | Label ~ FIM Records

Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong make for a charming team on this CD. Accompanied by pianist Oscar Peterson, guitarist Herb Ellis, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Buddy Rich, Fitzgerald and Armstrong perform 11 standards with joy and swing. There are touches of Satch's trumpet, but this is primarily a vocal set with the emphasis on tasteful renditions of ballads. Its follow-up, Ella & Louis Again, is also worth getting. ~ AllMusic


1. Can't We Be Friends? (3:47)
2. Isn't This A Lovely Day? (6:16)
3. Moonlight In Vermont(3:42)
4. They Can't Take That Away From Me (4:39)
5. Under A Blanket Of Blue (4:18)
6. Tenderly (5:10)
7. A Foggy Day (4:32)
8. Stars Fell On Alabama (3:34)
9. Cheek To Cheek (5:53)
10. The Nearness Of You (5:42)
11. April In Paris (6:33)

Thanks to the original uploader!