Friday, September 16, 2011

Oscar Peterson - Oscar Peterson Plays The George Gershwin Song Book (1996)

Oscar Peterson - Oscar Peterson Plays The George Gershwin Song Book (1996)
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe
Genre ~ Hard Bop, Modal Music, Trumpet Jazz | Label ~ Columbia/Legacy Records

Oscar Peterson made two trips through the Gershwin repertoire, one in 1952 and another in 1959 after the advent of stereo. As with Oscar Peterson Plays the Duke Ellington Songbook, this disc compiles both sessions, the earlier one with a trio of guitarist Barney Kessel and bassist Ray Brown, the later one with Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen. The later session is programmed first. The earlier group drew its conception from the Nat "King" Cole trio, a lightly swinging blend that benefits from a third highly adept soloist in Kessel. The later group is more conventional, but it sometimes draws meatier, more forceful playing from an older Peterson. The contrast is apparent in the two versions of "It Ain't Necessarily So." On both sessions, the emphasis is on the tunes, and Peterson sparkles on uptempos and ballads alike. ~ Amazon


01. It Ain't Necessarily So (2:49)
02. The Man I Love (3:09)
03. Love Walked In (2:49)
04. I Was Doing All Right (2:51)
05. A Foggy Day (2:55)
06. Oh, Lady, Be Good! (3:02)
07. Love Is Here To Stay (2:59)
08. They All Laughed (2:32)
09. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off (2:20)
10. Summertime (2:58)
11. Nice Work If You Can Get It (2:08)
12. Shall We Dance? (2:19)
13. The Man I Love (3:35)
14. Fascinating Rhythm (3:01)
15. It Ain't Necessarily So (3:18)
16. Somebody Loves Me (3:25)
17. Strike Up the Band (3:18)
18. I've Got A Crush On You (2:57)
19. I Was Doing All Right (2:46)
20. 'S Wonderful (2:39)
21. Oh, Lady, Be Good (3:54)
22. I Got Rhythm (3:20)
23. A Foggy Day (3:41)
24. Love Walked In (3:06)

Thanks to the original uploader!