Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Oscar Peterson Trio - With Respect to Nat (1998)

Oscar Peterson Trio - With Respect to Nat (1998)
EAC Rip | FLAC+CUE+LOG | Full Artwork | FileServe/FileSonic
Genre ~ Bop, Piano Jazz, Vocal | Label ~ PolyGram Records/Verve Music Group

Though he made vocal recordings in the early 1950s, Oscar Peterson would seldom sing later in his career. His reluctance was caused by something that would deter few others: his voice sounded remarkably like Nat "King" Cole's. It's a talent that dovetails with Peterson's piano playing and shared roots to make this tribute, recorded in 1965 after Cole's death, especially effective. For seven of the tracks, Peterson reassembles his great trio, including bassist Ray Brown and guitarist Herb Ellis, a group originally modeled on Cole's trios of the 1940s. It's a wonderful mating of approach and material, a group that can swing both mightily and lightly, and which does so superbly on such tunes as "Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good to You," "Straighten Up and Fly Right," and the instrumental "Easy Listening Blues." The other five tracks feature an all-star big band (the pianist is Hank Jones), with arrangements by Manny Albam. Peterson pays tribute to the popular vocalist of the '50s, singing Cole's signature "Unforgettable" and the witty "Calypso Blues" with evident regard for the original, but with his own distinctive phrasing. ~ Stuart Broomer


1. When My Sugar Walks Down The Street 2:22
2. It's Only A Paper Moon The 2:32
3. Walkin' My Baby Back Home 2:34
4. Sweet Lorraine 3:34
5. Unforgettable 2:40
6. Little Girl Blue 2:38
7. Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good To You 2:59
8. Orange Colored Sky 2:15
9. Straighten Up And Fly Right 2:29
10. Calypso Blues 3:37
11. What Can I Say After I Say I'm Sorry 2:42
12. Easy Listening Blues 3:23

Thanks to the original uploader!