Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Oscar Peterson Trio - Vancouver, 1958 (2003)

Oscar Peterson Trio - Vancouver, 1958 (2003)
EAC Rip | FLAC+CUE+LOG | Full Artwork | FileServe/FileSonic
Genre ~ Bop, Piano Jazz | Label ~ Just A Memory Records/JAM 9148-2

Oscar Peterson's trio with Ray Brown and Herb Ellis lasted from 1953 to 1959 and is well documented on records, but the appearance in 2003 of this previously unreleased 1958 concert at the Orpheum Theatre in Vancouver is welcome news to the pianist's fans. Buoyed by a receptive audience and always in the mood to play to the best of their abilities, the musicians outdo themselves throughout the set. Among the highlights are lengthy explorations of "How High the Moon" (which is centered around Brown's tasty solo) and Peterson's "The Music Box Suite," cooking interpretations of a pair of the late Clifford Brown's best-known compositions ("Joy Spring" and "Daahoud"), and a pair of little-known originals by Ellis (including a lovely solo ballad, "Patricia," and the blistering "Pogo"). Add it all up and any fan of Oscar Peterson will want to add this Just a Memory CD to his or her collection.


01. How High the Moon
02. We'll Be Together Again
03. Joyous Spring
04. Daahoud
05. I Like to Recognize the Tune
06. The Golden Striker
07. Patricia
08. Pogo
09. The Music Box Suite (AKA Daisy's Dream)

Thanks to the original uploader!