Monday, October 17, 2011

Bill Evans Trio - Sunday at the Village Vanguard (1961)[JVC/xrcd Remaster 1998]

Bill Evans Trio - Sunday at the Village Vanguard (1961)[JVC/xrcd Remaster 1998]
EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | FileSonic/FileServe
Genre ~ Post-Bop, Standards| Label ~ Riverside/JVC(xrcd)JVCXR-0051-2

Jazz pianist Bill Evans began a quiet revolution in the early 1960s. Before Evans, jazz piano trios spotlighted the pianist while the others essentially accompanied him or her. Evans envisioned a trio where all three musicians were on an equal footing, where they'd truly interact. "Sunday at the Village Vanguard", recorded live in 1961, captures the original Bill Evans Trio at its peak. Drummer Paul Motian plays with grace, subtlety, and restraint that are equal to Evans's, and bassist Scott LaFaro (who also played with Ornette Coleman) has a rapport with the others that seems telepathic. Evans absorbed the bebop approach to the keys but also took inspiration from the suave pianism of Nat "King" Cole and 20th-century classical Impressionism. "Sunday" is piano trio jazz that's executed so beautifully one might not notice how complex it really is. ~ CDUniverse

01. Gloria's Step (take 2) (6:13)
02. My Man's Gone Now (6:27)
03. Solar (8:57)
04. Alice in Wonderland (take 2) (8:38)
05. All of You (take 2) (8:22)
06. Jade Visions (take 2) (3:47)
07. Gloria's Step (take 3) (6:57)
08. Alice in Wonderland (take 1) (7:06)
09. All of You (take 3) (8:07)
10. Jade Visions (take 1) (5:13)

Bill Evans - piano
Scott LaFaro - bass
Paul Motian - drums

Produced by Orrin Keepnews
Recording Engineer: Dave Jones
Recorded "live" at the Village Vanguard, New York City; June 25, 1961.
This JVC-xrcd edition was produced by Akira Taguchi
Mastered by Alan Yoshida at A&M Mastering Studios, Hollywood, CA.
xrcd Series design by Peter Grant
Creative direction by Sam Gay